Avoiding My Blog, Shame on Me!

I haven’t wanted to write anything lately. I have thought about writing; however, as I put my fingers to the keys, all that comes out is whining. I don’t want my blog to be a place where I whine about what I don’t have, or how everything is just too hard. No, that is not what this is supposed to be. I want my blog to be a place women can turn to and realize that they are not alone.

Anyway, I feel like I must get a few complaints out in order to move past my blog avoidance. Feel free to click away now.

First, I am broke. My family is suffering from a severe deficit. I know a lot of people are in the same boat right now. I don’t claim to be any more broke, bad off, or poor than the next gal. I am , however, sick to death of people that are not in my situation trying to put themselves here. You can’t sit there as a mother of two, reading your Nook telling me that you know how I feel. No, I am sorry you do not. I have given up cable to pay my power bill. I am skipping lunch to make sure I have food for my five children. I am wearing broken down nursing tank tops because I can’t afford a nursing bra! You don’t get it unless you are here. I appreciate the sentiment, but I don’t want your pity.

Second, I don’t want to hear about your over-indulged children’s ridiculous Christmas lists. Please, your kids have more than they need, want, or use so stop telling me about the huge Christmas you are planning. I don’t care. Your kids don’t even deserve it. How many times have you already threatened them with Santa witholding gifts if they don’t behave? Then, they don’t behave and Santa still comes. Really? I just can’t listen to it. This attitude is in part because I am too poor to spoil my children this year, but also is a reaction to the commercialization of our children. Because you spoil your kids, mine expect it. I am forced to feel guilty that I can’t give my children a plethora of unneeded toys because of people like you! (Not you guys, obviously, my blog readers aren’t guilty of this!)

Look, this is the season of giving. But, those of us that can’t afford to give at the same level as some of you find this season to be the season of not measuring up. It is hard. I wish we could get back to handmade gifts being genuinely appreciated.

Rant over, and I am sorry.

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. faithnmyself
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 14:38:46

    Our xmas is very limited this year also! No toys bc they don’t need.them only clothes and shoes and.cpl games..if I can help n anyway pls tell me <3

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

